Tullibole Castle is located in the village of Crook of Devon in Perthshire County, Scotland. John Halliday built the 17thcentury castle upon the land of a 14thcentury building site. The castle began as a tower house in the 16thcentury and was expanded by Halliday. The castle underwent further reconstruction in the 18thcentury, and changed ownership to the Moncrieff family around 1740. In 1790, due to financial difficulties, the roof of the castle was removed and sold to the owner of Glendevon Castle, but by the turn of the century the castle was reroofed. The castle was renovated in the mid 20thcentury and some of the Victorian elements were removed for older features. In 1662, ten women and one man were executed near Tullibole Castle for witchcraft; the laird at the time was William Halliday. He and his son John, along with several prominent locals from Crook and Devon, formed a tribunal and set out to prove the evidence of witchcraft. They unfortunately tortured people to receive confessions and used these confessions at the official trials. Eleven people were found guilty of witchcraft and hanged. In 2012, Rhoderick Moncrieff unveiled a memorial at the castle to commemorate the witch trials that his 17thcentury predecessor ordered. The half-ton sandstone pillar has the names of the victims etched on it and stands in the center of the 100-foot hedge maze. Currently, Rhoderick and his wife Allison run a bed and breakfast out of the castle. The castle grounds boast a 9thcentury ruined medieval church, an ancient graveyard, a carriage house, gardens, a maze, a moat, fish ponds, lots of wandering peacocks, and a ruined 18thcentury Doocot, which was used to house pigeons. Tullibole Castle serves as a wedding and corporate venue.
Kinfauns Castle is located in Perth, Scotland. Lord Gray built the castle in 1822-1826 on the site of a previous medieval stronghold. The gothic castellated castle stands two stories high with three story towers, a central flag tower, turrets, a large terrace, and battlements. An arboretum was built in the mid-19thcentury, along with a formal and walled garden, which is now occupied by private houses. The arboretum was said to house over 30 trees, which remained in the arboretum until 1970. The property has views of River Tay with woodlands to the north, and agricultural lands to the south and east. The 17thLord Gray commissioned improvements to the castle and structures on the estate until his death in 1930. The castle served as a hotel in the late 20thcentury, boasting 16 luxurious bedrooms, marble fireplaces, and opulent public rooms. In 2004, businesswoman Ann Gloag purchased the castle as a private residence. Ann is considered Scotland’s richest woman. Ann founded a stagecoach bus and rail company. She also owns Beaufort Castle and Balcraig House. Kinfauns Castle is not open to the public.
Kinloch Castle is located on the Isle of Rum off the west coast of Scotland. Built in the late 19thcentury, the mansion served as a residence for Sir George Bullough. George’s father, John Bullough, was a textile mill owner from Lancaster who rented Rum Isle for a number of years before deciding to buy it. John purchased the island to create a shooting reserve, and he introduced more deer and game birds, as well as trees to the property. Unfortunately, John died in 1891, and George inherited the property, building a Doric temple mausoleum to his father on the land. George had the castle built in the castellated Tudor style, using red sandstone. The castle had its own electricity supply, modern plumbing, heating, and a telephone system. George owned a yacht and sailed around the world, becoming friends with the Japanese Emperor. There is evidence of this friendship represented throughout the castle, like the gift of the bronze Monkey Eating Eagle in the grand hall. The castle boasts a music hall with a mechanical orchestrion, a golden ballroom, a paneled dining room, a library, a drawing room, and a shower bath with multiple water jets. The property has formal and informal gardens, including a water garden and a walled garden. There’s also a golf course, a bowling green, and greenhouses. It is believed that at one time the castle also had a palm house that housed hummingbirds, turtles, and alligators. George and his wife, Monica, held lavish parties for the wealthy in the opulent surroundings they created. Monica was claimed to be a descendent of one of Napoleon’s sisters. In 1901, King Edward VII knighted George for his efforts in the Second Boer War. George died in 1939 while on a golfing holiday in France, and in 1957, the Bullough Trustees sold the Island of Rum with the exception of the family mausoleum. Due to the flat roofs of the castle and the amount of rain on the island, Kinloch Castle has undergone numerous repairs. The Scottish Natural Heritage, who operated the castle as a hostel until 2015, currently owns Kinloch Castle and Rum Island. Kinloch Castle is open to the public for tours. #Castles #KinlochCastle #IsleOfRum #Scotland
Glengorm Castle is located on the Isle of Mull in Scotland. The 19thcentury Scottish Baronial home was built for James Forsyth of Quinish. Forsyth was not beloved on the island as he bullied crofters in the area, evicting the tenants and burning their cottages. He was even told by an older woman that he would never live in the castle he was building, and he didn’t, Forsyth was killed in a riding accident just before the castle was completed in 1863. His son inherited the property. Forsyth also asked an elderly woman what he should name his castle and she told him “Glengorm” to which he agreed, not knowing that in Gaelic Glengorm meant blue glen, a reference to the blue smoke that filled the air when Forsyth had the thatched roof cottages burned down. Set amongst forests, lochs, and hills, Glengorm Castle boasts five luxury suites, grand receptions rooms, a secret stairway, a game room, a whisky lounge, a library, and more. The castle is currently owned by the Nelson family and serves as a Bed and Breakfast and offers self-catering accommodations with rooms available inside the castle or in one of the six cottages scattered about the property. The castle has a café and shop and offers fishing, scenic trails, guided nature walks, Atlantic Ocean views, and complimentary whiskeys from around the world.
Abbotsford House is located on the banks of River Tweed in the small town of Melrose in the Scottish Borders area of Scotland. The estate was once a small farm of 100 acres and was purchased in 1811 by famous novelist and poet, Sir Walter Scott. Scott built a small villa on the property and continued to build additions to the house to create the mansion seen today. Scott had some of the stones brought in from ruined castles and abbeys in Scotland and had them built into this Scottish Baronial mansion. Scott was a collector of books, ancient furniture, armor, weapons, and other historic relics, many of which are located in the Museum of Scotland. Scott had the jougs (metal collars used to punish criminals) removed from Threave Castle and attached them to the castellated gateway he had built at Abbotsford. Although construction finished in 1824, Scott only enjoyed his home for one year before he found himself in debt. In 1830, his creditors gave the library and museum to him. Scott died in 1832, but the property became totally disencumbered in 1847 due to Scott’s publisher, who cancelled the bond upon the castle in exchange for the family’s share in Scott’s published works. The two Scott’s sisters who last owned the property installed electricity in 1962. The sisters Dame Jean Maxwell-Scott and Patricia Maxwell-Scott opened Abbotsford House to the public in 1833 to help pay for the mansion’s upkeep. Dame Jean was once a lady–in-waiting for Princess Alice, Duchess of Gloucester. The mansion continued to be occupied by Scott’s decedents until 2004. Abbotsford House is open to the public. The estate boasts a café, luxury accommodations in the Abbotsford Hope Scott Wing of the castle, formal gardens, and a visitor center with a gift shop.
Skibo Castle is located in the Highland county of Sutherland in Dornoch, Scotland. The castle was built in the 18thcentury and overlooks the Dornoch Firth. An earlier 13thcentury castle sat on this site and served as the residence for the Bishops of Caithness. In 1545, the estate was given by the church to John Gray to form an alliance against the threat of Protestantism. In 1745, Robert Gray surrendered the estate and it was later purchased by a relative who built a modern home on the property. The property changed ownership numerous times. In 1898, wealthy industrialist Andrew Carnegie purchased the dilapidated estate. Carnegie proceeded to put two million dollars into the property to build a baronial mansion house with turrets and battlements. He also created the Loch Ospisdale, constructed an indoor Olympic sized heated swimming pool, and added a 9-hole golf course. Skibo Castle remained in the Carnegie family until 1982, when it was purchased by businessman Peter de Savary, who instituted the private, members only Carnegie Club. The castle went through a 30 million dollar restoration to create a luxury Edwardian sporting estate. The club was sold to Elis Short in 2003. The grounds house eleven well-appointed lodges, extensive gardens, and an artificial lake called Lake Louise. The castle boasts 21 guest rooms, a spa, a private library, and a clubhouse with a restaurant. Activities include golf, swimming, tennis, clay pigeon shooting, fishing, and archery. Skibo Castle houses the Carnegie Club and is only open to its 650 members, however the public can make tee times for golfing.
Barony Castle Hotel is located in Eddleston, in the Scottish Borders area of Scotland. The castle is also known as the Black Barony, Blackbarony, and Darnhall. A tower house was built upon this site in the early 15thcentury when John Murray, Laird of Blackbarony was granted the estate and his title by King James IV. After his death, his son Andrew inherited the estate and title. Andrew had the Scottish baronial style castle built on the site of the old tower house. The castle’s French (Jacobean) façade was added in the 18thcentury. By the 19thcentury, plans were drawn up to for a new mansion, but it was never built. Instead the castle was repaired and altered around 1847. A north section was added in 1855 to add more bedrooms, and the house was further enlarged in 1887. The property passed to the Murrays of Elibank in 1771, who held ownership until 1926. The castle was converted into a hotel at that time and a ballroom was added in 1933. The castle served as a station for Polish soldiers until the end of WWII. Thereafter it returned to a hotel under the new ownership of Polish war veteran, Jan Tomasik. Tomasik had the three-dimension, outdoor concrete scale model of Scotland added to the property. The Mercure Group, part of Accor Hotels, currently operates the hotel. Barony Castle is three stories tall with four-story square towers set on 25 acres of mature gardens and woodlands. The grounds boast 19thcentury stables, an 18thcentury icehouse, and a Yew Tree walk. The hotel has 78 bedrooms, 14 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar, and a health and fitness suite with an indoor pool, sauna, spa, and gymnasium.