The Palais Garnier (pronounced: [palɛ ɡaʁnje] French (help·info)) is a 1,979-seatopera house, which was built from 1861 to 1875 for the Paris Opera. It was originally called the Salle des Capucines, because of its location on the Boulevard des Capucines in the 9th arrondissement of Paris, but soon became known as the Palais Garnier, in recognition of its opulence and its architect, Charles Garnier. The theatre is also often referred to as the Opéra Garnier (French (help·info)) and historically was known as the Opéra de Paris or simply the Opéra, as it was the primary home of the Paris Opera and its associated Paris Opera Ballet until 1989, when the Opéra Bastille opened at the Place de la Bastille. The Paris Opera now mainly uses the Palais Garnier for ballet.
Château de Bourdeille
Areal view of Versailles
The palace was built in 1515 for Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, a favourite of King Henry VIII. In 1529, when Wolsey fell from favour, the King seized the palace for himself and later enlarged it. Along with St. James’s Palace, it is one of only two surviving palaces out of the many owned by King Henry VIII. Hampton Court Palace has not been inhabited by the British Royal Family since the 18th century.
Hohenschwangau Castle is located in Schwangau, Germany. According
to written documentation, a castle has existed on this mountainous site since
the 12th century. The castle remained in possession of the Knights
of Schwangau, but the castle suffered through many wars and was eventually left
in ruins. In 1832, Crown Prince Maximilian
II purchased the ruins and had the castle reconstructed according to the
original plans in the Neo-Gothic style. The castle became the summer and
hunting residence of the Bavarian royal family. The famous Bavarian King Ludwig
II spent many weeks each summer at Hohenschwangau Castle. The Wittelsbacher
Ausgleichsfonds purchased the castle in 1928. The interior boasts a huge banquet
hall that’s also called the “Hall of Heroes” as the paintings show different
scenes of the Wilkina Saga and its hero Dietrich von Bern. The former arms and
drinking hall was rebuilt into a chapel that still has Sunday services. There’s
also an oriental room, an opulent dressing room, a star painted ceiling in the
kings bedroom, and murals in the Berchta room, which was Queen Mary’s writing
room. The interior from the 19th
century is still preserved in the royal apartments, the gardens, and the
kitchen of the castle, which are open to the public.
Schaezler Palace is located in Augsburg, Germany. The German
rococo palace was built from 1765-1770 for prominent banker and silver
merchant, Benedikt Adam Freiherr von Liebenhofen. Benedikt was elevated to
nobility in recognition of his financial help to the Empress Maria Theresa of
Austria. Inside the Banquet Hall is the ballroom, which was specifically
designed for visits by the Archduchess of Austria, Marie-Antoinette. The
ballroom boasts carved decorations, wall mirrors, gilded stuccowork, and a
ceiling depicting the seasons painted by Italian artist Gregorio Gugliemi. The
opulence of the palace symbolized the importance of the owner. The palace
remained mostly untouched during the 19th and 20th
centuries. The ceiling frescoes and the timber roof were restored in 2003.
Today, the building is part of the Augsburg Municipal Museums and Art
Collection and is open to the public.