Category: history

Crossbasket Castle

Crossbasket Castle is located in Glasgow, Scotland. The
first tower was erected on this site in the early 15th century and
served as the dower-house of the Lindsay’s of Dunrod. Robert the Bruce granted
John Lindsay the lands of Kilbride in 1382, and the lands remained a part of
his family’s holdings until the 17th century. The property changed
hands numerous times throughout its history. In 1878, the inventor and
manufacturer of a waterproof material used for raincoats, Charles Macintosh,
lived at the castle and had a dye mill constructed on the property near the
River Calder. The castle was sold to the Clark Family and eventually came under
ownership of George Neilson in 1891. It was Neilson who created the castle that
is seen today. The castle continued to change ownership and in the 1960’s, the
castle served as an education center called James Little College. In 1981, the
Castle was sold to the Latter Rain Ministries and ran as a Christian center
until 2005. The castle was then sold to a developer, but the property remained
in an abandoned state until 2011. Crossbasket Castle was purchased by the
Reid-Timoney family who spent millions to transforms the castle into a luxury
hotel and event venue. Crossbasket Castle boasts nine bedrooms, a Gate Lodge, a
ballroom, a four-story private bridal tower, opulent public rooms, a tearoom, and
an award-winning restaurant.  #Hotel
#Glasgow #Scotland #Castles #Restaurant #History

Knoll House

Knole House is located in the parish of Sevenoaks in west
Kent, England. Sevenoaks includes the town and the 1,000 acre Knole Park, which
is where the Jacobean country house is located. The castle is one of the
largest houses in England and boasts 365 rooms, 53 staircases, 12 entrances,
and seven courtyards. Constructed in the late 15th century by Thomas
Bourchier, Archbishop of Canterbury, the castle was built on the site of an
earlier house. In the 16th century, major additions were made to the
structure. Knole House became a royal possession during the Tudor dynasty;
Henry VIII hunted here and Elizabeth I visited. The estate has a Gatehouse
Tower, an Orangery, a private chapel, a conservation studio, a Café, a
bookshop, and walled gardens. The estate is known as a deer park and has a
large wild deer herd. In 1603, Thomas Sackville (Queen Elizabeth I’s cousin)
made the castle an aristocratic treasure house. He had the rooms designed to
impress visitors and to display his wealth and status. Over the next 400 years,
his descendants rebuilt and updated the rooms. In 1946, the National Trust
acquired the house, but more than half of the house has been leased back to the
Sackville-West family, who live in Knole House’s private apartments. The estate
and home are open to the public. There is a Visitor Center in the Green Court. 

Eye of Providence

http://www.lahilden.com/index.php?categoryid=6&p2_articleid=200

Glin Castle

Glin Castle is located in County Limerick in Glin, Ireland. Thomas
FitzGerald built the first castle around the 1200’s, and its ruins are still
visible. John Bateman FitzGerald, the 25th Knight of Glin, built the current
castle in the late 1700’s. The Castle has been the seat of the Knights of Glin
for seven centuries. The last Knight of Glin died in 2011 and the title died
with him. The estate is set on 380 acres on the Shannon Estuary, with a walled
garden and a working dairy farm. The Georgian house is castellated with
battlements, gatehouses, and follies in the Regency and Gothic style. The three
level 20,550 square foot home was built for entertaining and has a drawing
room, a dining room, a smoking room, a library, and nine bedroom suites.
There’s also an adjoining wing with three more reception rooms and five more
bedrooms. The grand hall makes a statement with Corinthian columns, an ornate
Adams-style ceiling, and Venetian windows. Irish symbols of shamrocks and the
FitzGerald crest of a boar, make up some of the décor. The interior boasts a
double flying staircase off the first hall, the only one of its kind in
Ireland. The castle’s top floor was refurbished and operated as a country hotel
from 1993-2008. Glin Castle was on the market for €6.5 million in 2015, but was recently
taken off the market in 2017 as the owners decided to hold onto their ancestral
home. Glin Castle is now operating it as a wedding and event venue. 

Peles Castle

Peleș Castle is located at the foot of the Bucegi Mountains in the
town of Sinaia in Prohova County, Romania. King Carol I of Romania built the
Neo-Renaissance castle from 1873 to 1883; it was under his reign that the
country gained its independence. Along with the castle, the king also
commissioned a royal summer retreat, a hunting lodge, royal stables, guards’
chambers, an Economat building, and a power plant to be built on the estate. Peleș Castle was the
world’s first to be fully powered by locally produced energy. The castle went
through later additions throughout its history and was once seized by the
Communist regime. The castle was closed from 1975 to 1990, but after the
December 1989 Revolution the castle was re-established as a heritage site and reopened
to the public. The castle boasts 160 ornate rooms that carry themes from cultures
around the world. The rooms are lavishly decorated with wall and ceiling
frescoes by Gustav Klimt and Franz von Matsch, Murano crystal chandeliers,
German stained-glass windows, Cordoba leather covered walls, carved teak
furniture in the Music room, and a 4,000 piece collection of arms and armor are
displayed in the Armory. The castle also has a movie theater and a Turkish
salon. The property has seven Italian neo-Renaissance terrace gardens made
mostly of Carrara marble, while the gardens have statues, fountains, stairways,
and marble paths. Peleș Creek runs through the courtyard, while a towering statue of
King Carol I overlooks the main entrance. Peleș Castle is open to the public for guided tours
and serves as the Peleș National Museum.

Charleville Castle

Charleville Castle is located in County Offaly in Tullamore,
Ireland. The first home on this site was built by Thomas Moore in 1641 and
passed to his grandson Charles Moore, Lord Tullamore. In the early 1800’s, Charles
William Bury, Earl of Charleville had a new Gothic revival house built on the property.
Due to a lack of funds by the owners, the castle was often left unoccupied.
Every re-opening of the castle was met with further additions and
refurbishment. It was William Morris, an English textile designer, who created
the dining room ceiling. Lord Byron, a poet, peer, politician, and leading
figure during Regency England, held many gatherings at Charleville Castle. The
castle was vacant in 1912 and by 1968 the roof had been removed. Restoration work
began in 1971 and later a Charitable Trust was formed to help in the
restorations. The castle hosts multiple events and is believed to be the most
haunted building and grounds in Europe, appearing on many television shows
including Fox’s Scariest Places on Earth.
Many paranormal investigators visit the castle in the hopes of meeting the
ghost called Harriet, the little girl died after a fall down the stairs. The
castle is situated in Ireland’s most ancient primordial oak woods, once the
haunting grounds of Ireland’s druids. The Charleville Castle Heritage Trust
owns the estate. Charleville Castle is open to the public for touring.

Palace of Versailles

The Palace of Versailles is located in Versailles, France.
The royal château served as the seat of French
political power. The palace was originally built as a hunting lodge for King
Louis XIII and enlarged into a royal place by Louis XIV. The château went through many expansion phases. The second phase
in 1678-1715 saw two enormous wings added. Although the cost was extraordinary,
it was decided the château should serve as a
showcase of France. All the materials that went into construction and décor
were manufactured in France. One of the most costly elements was the silver
furniture and silver balustrade used by King Louis XIV for the grand
apartments. The palace has a long history, with the royal family being forced
to move out of Paris during the French Revolution. When the monarchy fell,
Versailles Palace fell into ruin and most of the furniture was sold. In 1810,
Napoleon began restoration work, which continued under Louis XVIII in 1820, but
it wasn’t until King Louis-Philippe when the true efforts began. The Fifth
Republic made further restorations in the 1950’s and promoted the château as a museum. In 2003, a new restoration initiative
began. The palace boasts 700 rooms, 67 staircases, and 1,250 fireplaces. The
original façade is done in red brick with cut stone embellishments, which has
been preserved. The eastern side of the palace has a U-shaped layout with
secondary wings and a black and white marble courtyard. Over the course of its
history, there have been five chapels on the site, the current one built in the
Baroque style by King Louis XVI. The castle is also known for its Hall of
Mirrors, this gallery is 230 feet long and holds 17-arcaded mirrors, while the
ceiling is painted with 30 different scenes from Louis XIV’s reign. The Royal
Opera was completed in 1770. The castle has many opulent apartments from the
king’s private apartments to the state apartments. The gardens at Versailles
are filled with water fountains, which includes an orangery. The Palace
of Versailles is open to the public and serves as a museum. 

Vianden Castle

Vianden Castle is located in Vianden in Luxembourg. The
castle was built on the site of an ancient Roman castellum and served as the
seat to the Counts Vianden until the beginning of the 15th century. Built
on a high rock overlooking the town, the castle was constructed in the
Romanesque style from the 11th to 14th centuries, with
Gothic transformations added toward the end of the building period. In the 17th
century, a Renaissance mansion was added to the site. In 1820, King William I
sold the castle to an alderman named Wenzel Coster. Wenzel demolished the
building and sold it in pieces, which left it a ruin. Bothered by the
mistreatment Wenzel dealt the castle, the king repurchased the ruin with the
desire to restore it, but by then the Belgian Revolution was underway. It
wasn’t until 1851 that Prince Henry of the Netherlands began to restore the
castle. Prince Henry commissioned the work on the chapel at his own expense. In
1890, further restorations were made by the Grand Duke of Luxembourg. During WWII
the castle was defended against the Waffen-SS by the Luxembourg anti-Nazi
resistance. In 1962, restoration began again with the armory, until questions
of the castle’s ownership slowed the progress. In 1977, the Grand Duke
transferred ownership of the castle to the state and the work continued and was
completed in 1990. Vianden Castle boasts a courtyard, an arms hall, a crypt, a
chapel, a Knight’s hall, a dining hall, a vaulted grand kitchen, an early
kitchen, a water well, a Byzantine Gallery, and a genealogy room. Vianden
Castle is open to the public.