Pidhirtsi Castle is located in the village of Pidhirtsi in Lviv Oblast in western Ukraine. The castle was built upon the site of a previous fortress for the Cossack chief of the Polish Crown between the years 1635-1640. The castle-fortress was built for leisure and remained in the Polish military leaders ownership until the 18thcentury. Unlike the previous castles constructed in the area, Pidhirtsi Castle resembles an English country house, complete with a park and two churches. The three story structure was built with brick and stone, guarded by a moat and drawbridge, fortified walls, and iron cannons. The castle grounds featured a private zoo, a grange, vineyards, an apiary, a trout pond, and a mill. The Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation and St. Joseph was built near the palace in the Baroque style in the mid 18thcentury. The castle underwent renovations in the 18thand 19thcenturies, and suffered damage during the 20thcentury when it was vandalized. After WWII, the castle was used to house tuberculosis patients. The castle suffered through fire caused by a lightning storm in 1956. During the Soviet regime the castle was often left abandoned, all these events led to the decline in the east and west wings of the palace. The castle is currently run by the Museum of Fine Arts in Lviv and is part of the National Cultural Heritage of the Ukraine. The students of the Lviv Polytechnic University and the students of Vienna Poytechnic, who performed the first architectural survey of the palace, are currently carrying out Restoration of Pidhirtsi Castle. The castle boasts a collection of paintings, sculpture, armor, books, and crafts. Pidhirtsi Castle is open to the public.