Fyvie Castle

Fyvie Castle is located in the village of Fyvie in
Aberdeenshire, Scotland. Fyvie Castle is believed to have been built in 1211 by
William the Lion, it was known as an open-air royal court held by Robert the
Bruce. In 1390, the baronial castle was used to pay a ransom after the Battle
of Otterburn, and was later taken possession by five successive families who
added a new tower to the castle. The Preston tower is from 1390-1433, the
Meldrum tower from the late 1400’s, the Seton main entrance tower was built in
1599, the Gordon tower in 1778, and the Leith tower in 1890, which is really an
added wing. Leith and his wife restored the interiors and furnished the castle
in grand style. The castle boasts an enormous drawing room, which opens into
the gallery that holds a series of rich tapestries and a pipe organ, while the
staterooms have elaborate plasterwork and paintings, and the entry hall holds a
fireplace. The Leith descendants sold the castle to the National Trust for
Scotland in 1984. The castle grounds were landscaped in the 19th
century, which includes a variety of gardens growing a wide range of Scottish
fruits, and includes a walled garden, and a lochside walk. Like many old
castles, Fyvie castle is believed to be haunted and has appeared on many television
shows. Fyvie Castle is open to the public.